Hyper-v Fail on removable media

On my test machine which is an Intel X79 Desktop motherboard , suddenly hyper-v stopped working and I could not start or create any Virtual machines I got the errors  “General access denied error (0x80070005)“ during trouble shooting this issue I notices that the source of event log was “removable media “ , I know that I don’t have any removable media attached to my hyper-v also  I have noticed the icon of USB device on my task bar informing me that all my local hard disks where ejectable ,  the solution was to install the new Intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology Enterprise Driver  for windows 8  64-bit , below are the event logs that appeared in my event log

“ windows* INF File for AHCI Intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology Enterprise Driver 
; **               Installs: RSTe AHCI RAID Controller Miniport (without RST Filter Driver)
; **               Only for Windows 8 releases “

Log Name:      Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-VMMS-Admin
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-VMMS
Date:          3/20/2013 11:31:42 AM
Event ID:      16320
Task Category: None
Level:         Error
Keywords:     
User:          SYSTEM
Computer:      win12-hv.jitpros.local
Description:
Cannot load a snapshot configuration: General access denied error (0x80070005). (Snapshot ID D261B782-CCB5-4BE1-9FE9-8006E760AB0E)

Log Name:      Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-VMMS-Admin
Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Hyper-V-VMMS
Date:          3/20/2013 11:31:42 AM
Event ID:      16300
Task Category: None
Level:         Error
Keywords:     
User:          SYSTEM
Computer:      win12-hv.jitpros.local
Description:
Cannot load a virtual machine configuration: General access denied error (0x80070005). (Virtual machine ID A5EA8F00-569B-441B-BF1B-8DAB27C2D153)

About Hikmat Kanaan

I’m big fan of technology; I have worked almost with every MS windows OS up to Windows 8 and server 2012 including OS deployment, AD and almost every MS OS service included major MS products ISA ,TMS, Exchange, System center ,Sharepoint ,SQL , Storage system, Networking, security, Cisco, HP, and Checkpoint products. Designing and Architecting IT solutions and infrastructure . I do admire automation and working based on best practices toward building highly reliable solution that provide the required services to Business. I also run the Jordan IT professionals user Group http://www.jitpros.net
This entry was posted in Hyper-v, Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

