Access denied when Running Any MMC console

A problem that I have faced and it toke me quite period of time to figure out the reason of it. The case was that when running any Administrative Consoles MMC such as Active Directory users and computers , event viewer , or any other console I received and Access denied message Although I was using the Domain Administrator user Account. But I could run the MMC if I selected runas and provided the same credential. Initially I thought the problem is due to Virus infection of server , but after searching I discovered that i get this error due to miss association of MMC extension to notepad. The solution was pretty simple.

  1. Right Click any MMC
  2. Select Open with
  3. Click Browse and select c:\windows\system32\MMC.exe
  4. Select always use the selected program to open this kind of files
About Hikmat Kanaan

I’m big fan of technology; I have worked almost with every MS windows OS up to Windows 8 and server 2012 including OS deployment, AD and almost every MS OS service included major MS products ISA ,TMS, Exchange, System center ,Sharepoint ,SQL , Storage system, Networking, security, Cisco, HP, and Checkpoint products. Designing and Architecting IT solutions and infrastructure . I do admire automation and working based on best practices toward building highly reliable solution that provide the required services to Business. I also run the Jordan IT professionals user Group http://www.jitpros.net
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Access denied when Running Any MMC console

  1. MR says:

    Thanks, this helped me out today!

Leave a Reply

