Adding Outlook.com Account to Outlook 2010

I like to use MS Desktop outlook as my central communication client , so I have my Hotmail account , twitter , office 365 accounts all in my outlook 2010 , If you have signed up for a new account at the new Microsoft outlook.com site and you tried to add it to your desktop outlook 2010 , You might get confused as I did of how to do that.

The answer is use the Hotmail connector to do that :

1. From the file menu select add account

2. Select option “ Manually Configure Server settings or Additional Server type” and click next.

image

3. in the choose service Select other and select Microsoft outlook Hotmail.connector  and click next

image

4. Enter you User Name and Outlook.com email account and password and click Ok.

image

5. You soon see the congratulation Screen Press Finish.

image

I love how Outlook make my life easy …Smile

About Hikmat Kanaan

I’m big fan of technology; I have worked almost with every MS windows OS up to Windows 8 and server 2012 including OS deployment, AD and almost every MS OS service included major MS products ISA ,TMS, Exchange, System center ,Sharepoint ,SQL , Storage system, Networking, security, Cisco, HP, and Checkpoint products. Designing and Architecting IT solutions and infrastructure . I do admire automation and working based on best practices toward building highly reliable solution that provide the required services to Business. I also run the Jordan IT professionals user Group http://www.jitpros.net
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Adding Outlook.com Account to Outlook 2010

  1. Martín Losardo says:

    Thanks a lot.
    If searched all over the new, and fount anything about it.
    Why Microsoft did no explained it?

  2. Daniel says:

    Hi,

    Have you an idea how to configure outlook 2010 ro connect with the outlook.com email using the POP3 protocol ?

    Thanks

  3. Arif says:

    Thank you very much!!! That was very helpful. You are very good. And yes, I agree that I love how Outlook makes it easy.

  4. Connie Brennan says:

    Thank you! You’re good! I searched Bing, Outlook.com help, etc. can’t find it but you did it. Very nice and easy! Love it. Thanks!

  5. Al says:

    I don’t get the option to do “Other types” after selecting manual configuration. I have to say, this is the stupidest thing ever. Outlook.com does not automatically work with Outlook! idiots!

  6. liz says:

    Thank you for your help. I had tried searching the web and was getting nowhere until I found your post! :-D

  7. Paul says:

    Greetings Hikmat,
    Will the connector work with a private domain that is serviced by outlook.com?

    Cheers,

    Paul

Leave a Reply

